Queensland Civil Justice Award

Since 2001, the ALA has awarded the annual Queensland Civil Justice Award to an individual or organisation who has made a significant contribution or personal sacrifice towards the pursuit of justice in Queensland. The Award is presented at the ALA's Queensland Conference each year in February.

See below for a gallery of all Queensland Civil Justice Award recipients.

2024: Manuela Whitford, founder of Friends with Dignity, for her work to assist survivors of domestic violence. Read more.
2023: Gerard Mullins KC for his commitment to using the law to improve the lives of individuals. Read more. 2022: Kyna Morice for her commitment to enabling people in remote communities to receive legal assistance when they need it. Read more. 2021: Melia Benn for her work to assist First Nations communities in accessing justice. Read more.

2020: Efthimia Voulcaris (left) for advocating to obtain better support for Queensland paramedics with mental health issues. Read more.

2019: Leanne McDonald (left), Linda Mason (centre) and Clem van der Weegen (right) who have demonstrated resilience and determination to uncover the truth behind the murder of Annette Mason. Read more. 2018: Debbie Kilroy (right) for consistently advocating for the rights of marginalised and disadvantaged women in the criminal justice system. Read more.
2017: Stephen Keim SC, Justin Harper (left) and Gerry Mullins (right) for seeking justice for Hamid Khazaei, who died after a cut foot he sustained while in detention on Manus Island became infected. Read more.

2016: Kerry Splatt (left) who has been a long-term advocate for injured workers, and a defender of common law rights. Read more.

2015: Angus Francis (left), Mark Steele (second from left), Stephen Keim SC (second from right), Murray Watt (right), Matt Black and Walter Sofronoff QC, the legal team who released baby Ferouz Myuddin — born in Brisbane to refugee parents — from detention. Read more.
2014: John Sneddon (right) who spent five years defending the innocence of Australian citizen Marcus Lee, who had been unexpectedly arrested while working in Dubai in 2009. Read more. 2013: Peter Boyce whose critical role in the investigation and coronial inquest into the disappearance of Daniel Morcombe in 2003 led to the arrest and prosecution of Daniel's murderer. Read more. 2011: Rod Hodgson who led Dr Mohamed Haneef’s successful compensation claim when his working visa was unlawfully revoked while he was being held in jail.
A male and female adult stand in front of a wooden stable and smile for the camera. The male, who is on the right, holds a certificate. Two adults (one male, one female) smile and pose in front of an 'Australian Lawyers Alliance' pull-up banner. They are both holding a certificate. 3 Caucasian male adults smile and pose in front of a pull-up banner of the Australian Lawyers Alliance. The centre male, who is the Award winner, holds a certificate.

2009: Peter Russo (right) and Stephen Keim SC for representing and freeing Bundaberg medical registrar Dr Mohamed Haneef, who faced wrongful terrorism-related charges in 2007.

2008: Shirley White AM (right) for more than 20 years of advocacy on asbestos disease, including providing support for victims, advocating for legislative change, raising money for research and educating the community on the dangers of asbestos. 2007: Bob Carnegie (centre) for his long-term campaigning for the rights of workers, starting with the Workers’ Rights Coalition in the 1990s.
4 Caucasian adults (L–R: male, female, female, male) sitting on a ledge in front of turquoise blue water.
2006: Beryl Crosby who assisted nearly 200 former patients who suffered medical negligence under Dr Jayant Patel and Bundaberg Base Hospital, in accessing justice and proper medical treatment. 2005: The 'Dalby Four' (L–R Adair Donaldson, Samantha Donaldson, Amanda Dear and
Peter Shannon) who committed significant personal time and money resources to gain better pollution controls for a proposed ethanol plant in Dalby.

2004: Rob Davis for his exceptional contribution to the ALA's cause.

2003: Hetty Johnston, founder of Bravehearts, for her work with those affected by child sexual abuse.

2002: Arnotts Limited (centre and right) for their exceptional work in reducing workplace injury and improving rehabilitation for injured workers.

2001: The Consumer Protection Unit of Legal Aid Queensland for representing a large group of people who had borrowed money from Gold Coast loan sharks with dubious collection practices, at interest rates exceeding 200% per annum.