Our Presidents

See below for a gallery of all APLA/ALA National Presidents since 1994.

Some of our past National Presidents have provided reflections on their time in the role. Read them here.


    Headshot of Graham Droppert
2023–: Shaun Marcus (Vic)   2022–23: Genevieve Henderson (NSW)   2020–22: Graham Droppert (WA)
Andrew Christopoulos.   Noor Blumer   Laura Neil
2019–20: Andrew Christopoulos (NSW)   2018–19: Noor Blumer (ACT)   2017–18: Laura Neil (Qld)
  Greg Phelps   Andrew Stone SC
2016–17: Tony Kenyon (Vic).   2015–16: Greg Phelps (NT)   2014–15: Andrew Stone SC (NSW)
Geraldine Collins   Tony Kerin   Greg Barns

2013–14: Geraldine Collins (Vic)

  2012–13: Tony Kerin (SA)   2011–12: Greg Barns SC (Tas)
Brian Hiliard   Mark Blumer   Clara Davies
2010–11: Brian Hilliard (Tas)  

2009–10: Mark Blumer (ACT)

  2008–09: Clara Davies (Vic)
Ian Brown   Simon Morrison  
2007–08: Ian Brown (Qld)   2006–07: Simon Morrison (Qld)   2005–06: Richard Faulks (ACT)
Tom Goudkamp OAM   John Gordon   Rob Davis

2004–05: Tom Goudkamp OAM (NSW)

  2003–04: John Gordon (Vic)   2001–03: Rob Davis (Qld)
Dr Peter Cashman     Peter Semmler QC
1999–01: Dr Peter Cashman (NSW)   1998–99: Peter Carter (Qld)  

1994–98: Peter Semmler QC (NSW)